Lentils for November

Happy November! Did anyone make it through Halloween without a single piece of candy? Yeah, me neither, so let’s kick off clean eating!

b3947d2673926066a2f94a2f810d4942

We can do this. I’ve found eating high protein foods help curb a naughty sweet tooth. Check out some of my healthy meal time recipes for ideas.

Cookie Dough Katzen Recipes

See ya later never, junk food.

junk food

Or maybe just on special occasions…

While we wait until it’s time to stuff our face enjoy the Thanksgiving feast, here’s a recipe that may lack in exterior beauty, but boy, is it a super food!

Protein Lentils

Protein Lentils

1 bag of lentils

2 eggs + 4 egg whites

1/2 cup cheese of choice

1/4 tsp seasonings: garlic salt, pepper

Follow instructions on the bag to cook lentils. After cooked, drain. Return lentils over heat, adding eggs until cooked. Stir in cheese and seasonings.

Nutrition Info: 1 serving (1/2 cup) has 2g protein, 10 g fiber, 21 g carbs, and 2 g fat)

Question: Are you a fan of lentils? Does the appearance turn you off?

6fe5429e96a24be496d173fadc84d891

Tagged , , ,

14 thoughts on “Lentils for November

  1. Protein lentils sound fantastic! Have a great weekend Alex!!

  2. eggs and lentils is so clever! I miss the premade lentils from TJs….guess I’m just going to have to suck it up and make them myself!

  3. Nancy Vetter says:

    Lentils can be boring … but here’s a recipe that relies on spices to give a bit of extra flavor

    Lentil Soup Creole

    1 cup dry lentils
    2 qt. boiling water
    1-1/2 tsp. salt
    1 onion
    1 stalk celery
    1 small green bell pepper
    1 sweet red bell pepper
    3 tbsp. butter
    1 tsp. brown sugar
    bay leaf
    4 to 5 Tbsp. catsup or tomato puree
    2 Tbsp. flour
    fresh-ground black pepper
    Chili powder to taste
    Dash of cumin

    Douse the lentils with the boiling water, add the salt, and let them stand, covered, for about an hour. Chop the onion, the celery stalk, and the bell peppers. Melt 3 tbsp. butter and Add the diced vegetables, brown sugar, and a bay leaf, and saute for a few minutes before adding it all to the lentils.

    Cook over a very low flame for about 1-1/2 hours. Mix together the flour and the catsup (or tomato pureer). Add a little of the hot soup to this, stirring well, then return it all to the pot. Grind in some black pepper, cumin, chili powder, heat through, remove bay leaf and serve. Reheats nicely.

    I serve with a side of corn bread or freshly baked bread.

    6 to 8 servings.

  4. Such a good way to start November, I’m with ya!

  5. Eating protein helps me so much with the cravings! I won’t eat sweets if I already feel full. I love lentil soups!

  6. Lentils are aaamazing! I would eat them every day if I could! 😉

  7. I agree on the high protein bit. These look good! I haven’t had lentils since last winter…maybe I shall re try them lol 🙂

  8. I need to trial eating less sweets over a period longer than two days to see if this works. I have such a sweet tooth!

    http://stylishandhealthy.wordpress.com/

  9. Oh man I did not make it through halloween without candy either! It’s impossible!

  10. Mary Frances says:

    It’s hard to make lentils look pretty, but they sure are a super food!

  11. Beth says:

    LOVE lentils! Just ate some for lunch! 🙂

Show some love

