How to avoid eating all the brownie batter

I left my job! Today is my first day as a free bird. What’s first?

20131114-081357.jpg
I decided to leave my job because it wasn’t where I saw myself truly excelling. I needed more of a challenge and I’m interested in pursuing other opportunities with B2C (business to consumer) brands around public relations and social media. (I actually gave a presentation on social media yesterday to UVA faculty.)

20131114-083215.jpg
I’ll be freelancing and writing more. I’m also hoping to take advantage of the awesome daytime workout classes at my gym.

20131114-081712.jpg
More gym. More healthy. No excuses, play like a champ. πŸ™‚

After my workout class this morning, I came home and made chocolate pumpkin brownies by Six Sisters.

20131114-083646.jpg
This recipe is crazy simple- 1 box of brownie mix and 1 can of pumpkin.

20131114-083742.jpg
Make sure to use a good brownie mix because there were several negative reviews saying they were too bland.

20131114-083849.jpg
The secret to avoid eating all the batter? Bake in the morning. It just feels weird eating brownie batter this early. You heard it here first πŸ˜‰

20131114-084039.jpg
So for my first day off the 9-5 grind, I’m working on clean eating. A little less of this…

20131114-084140.jpg
A little more of this…

20131114-084209.jpg
What goals are you currently working on this week?
Have a thankful Thursday!

20131114-084650.jpg

Tagged , , ,

19 thoughts on “How to avoid eating all the brownie batter

  1. Nancy Vetter says:

    Going off on your own is a sink or swim situation. I’m confident you’ll be an excellent swimmer πŸ™‚ All the best to you, Alex.

  2. I’m trying to eat better and move more. Ha no surprise, but it’s a life long process:) glad your making changes that will make you happier!

  3. Kaitlin says:

    You go girl! Enjoy some of those workout classes for me πŸ˜‰ I’m putting some goals together to keep making healthy choices, while finding a balance with my new job. I want to make sure I’m not wearing myself down physically (legs don’t like me) but still staying fit. Maybe Pilates? Body pump? Who knows. I am thankful for my family who has supported me through this transition though. Let me know if you come visit NYC!

  4. Good for you! I made the same decision over a year ago (it was the hardest decision in my life!) but I have no regrets!

  5. To be honest I’m not so sure that baking the brownies in the morning would have stopped me from eating the batter! Glad to hear things are going well so far. Eating well, working out and working is tough. Let me know if you manage to figure it out!

  6. genext13 says:

    Welcome to the path of the unemployed! Is there really ever a time when it is weird to eat brownie batter? I have a hard time finding one!

  7. Go you for making a decision like that. I’m sure it’s for the best! Follow your heart and your passion. Oh yes and cheers to those pumpkin brownies, those are definitely one of my faves πŸ™‚

  8. jumpeatrun says:

    Baking in the morning is such a good tip for not eating the batter/dough! I would totally feel weird eating it all in the morning!
    Enjoy all of your free time!!

  9. Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com says:

    Your title grabbed me right away ( because that’s really the secret to life I struggle with weekly πŸ™‚
    Congratulations of your decision and taking such a bold move! Best of luck, I can’t wait to see where things take you!

  10. Carol says:

    Wow – that is really fabulous Alex!! Good luck and I know you’ll do really well.

  11. sharonel2013 says:

    OMG, Alex – thumbs up from ALL my brownie/pumpkin taste testers today! Your recipe is so easy and delish — thanks!!! (My Cookie Dough recipe collection continues to grow! ). Congrats on your fresh start. Very excited for you!!

  12. Katherine says:

    Eating all of the brownie batter is one of my life struggles. It’s just too hard. (And then there’s the whole salmonella problem, but that’s a WHOLE other story) You’re looking great girl! It’s hard to trade cookies for veggies, but you’re doing fantastic!

  13. Nicole says:

    Ha, ha. That’s a GREAT tip! And good for you, quitting your job and going for something that will make you happier!! πŸ™‚

  14. […] is always on the go working, from Charlottesville toΒ DC to […]

  15. […] that I’m working from home, I have more time for cooking. Enter: spaghetti […]

Show some love

