A go-to Meal

Now that I’m working from home, I have more time for cooking. Enter: spaghetti squash.

spaghetti squash

Warning: it’s a time consuming veggie to cook, but the product is worth it.

spaghetti squash pastaHere’s my cheesy spaghetti squash recipe. This time around, I kept things simple:

Easy spaghetti squash recipeEasy Spaghetti Squash Recipe

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 broccoli head
  • 3 laughing cow blue cheese wedges
  • 1 Tablespoon red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 350. Place spaghetti squash on a baking pan with 1/2 cup water. Puncture squash with a knife to create small slivers about 10 times. Bake for 1 hour. Cut squash in half. Remove the seeds (set aside, don’t throw out) and fork squash into a bowl. Discard squash shell. Over low heat, sauté olive oil and garlic for 5 minutes. Raise heat to medium high and add squash, cooking for 10 minutes. Add tomatoes and broccoli. Cook for 10 minutes. Add cheese and red pepper flakes. Lower heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

Oh, and bake those seeds.

Spaghetti squash seedsToss seeds on a greased cookie sheet; bake for 20 minutes at 350. I seasoned mine with garlic salt & pepper.

Cooking spaghetti squash can be quite time consuming, but it definitely yields a perfect go-to snack and meal.

When did you first discover spaghetti squash?

I think most bloggers can relate with this hottie :)

I think most bloggers can relate with this hottie 🙂

Have a great Wednesday and enjoy your eats!

Tagged , , ,

20 thoughts on “A go-to Meal

  1. Nancy Vetter says:

    Alex – did you know you can microwave spaghetti squash? Cut the squash in half, scoop out seeds and place face down in about 1/2 inch of water. Cover and cook for 5 minutes to start. If it shreds, it’s done. If it doesn’t shred, try an additional 5 minutes. Depends on your microwave wattage. If you have difficulty cutting the squash in half lengthwise, cut it in quarters instead. Works great! Spaghetti squash is a great substitute for pasta carbs!

  2. jumpeatrun says:

    This looks soooo good!!!

  3. I love having time to cook and prepare a good meal. This looks delicious!

  4. I LOVE spaghetti squash!!

  5. Don’t hate me, but I don’t like spaghetti squash! But I do love channing 🙂

  6. I’ve never tried toasting the spaghetti squash seeds, I’ve only made spaghetti squash a few times. I’ve roasted pumpkin seeds though, so I’m guessing they’re pretty similar? I would LOVE to work from home, so jealous!

  7. Brittany says:

    I’ve never roasted these seeds, I don’t know WHY though!! I’m all over it now!

  8. Spaghetti squash is definitely time consuming but it’s so tasty! I have been enjoying lots of squash lately 🙂

  9. Runner Girl Eats says:

    I’m a new spaghetti squash lover and can’t wait to try this 🙂

  10. I’m actually not the biggest fan of spaghetti squash! I like it, but I have to be in the right mood for it for sure.

  11. I just made a very similar meal tonight with ground venison!

  12. Sounds like a great dish.

  13. What a gorgeous photo of you! I have been so busy lately so my creative process has been in the stink but I will have some creative time the first week of December so I am excited about that! I love spaghetti squash I wish I could find some in Thailand when I lived in LA I would cook it weekly! Lots of love C

  14. laurasmess says:

    I’ve wanted to try spaghetti squash for ages…. I don’t think it’s sold over here in Australia? Or if it is, I’ve never seen it. Love this recipe, so deliciously healthy (packed with veggies!) but good for you also! Hm, I need to see if I can track some of that squash down!

Show some love

