Another Cleanse Recap

Following yesterday’s cleanse, I lasted just shy of 24 hours before deciding to eat a salad.

sweet greens

Perfect, right? I liked reading everyone’s comments yesterday because I agree that cleanses are not for everyone. As my friend said, “we were made with teeth for a reason.” I did what Lady Gaga advises- show me ya teeth.

CDK K9s

The cleanse was a success in that it got me back on track to eat right and appreciate healthy foods. Going hungry will make anyone salivate over the healthiest of foods.

Starbucks has a surprisingly good fruit cup

Like Starbucks’ surprisingly good fruit cup

When it comes to cleanses, I say to each his own. My own is a balance of healthy eating with the occasional indulgence.

ice cream and salad

A lotta’ healthy, a lil’ dessert

If you find yourself struggling with overeating, locate your motivation. Like any problem, diagnosis it, understand it, and figure out how to fix it. For me, I look at unhealthy foods and tell myself, “Ew, I don’t want that crap!” Say it enough, and you’ll start to believe it!

Mind over matter

Have you experienced problems with over eating?

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “Another Cleanse Recap

  1. Great idea after the post Thanksgiving treats!

  2. Kaitlin says:

    Good for you for trying it out! I actually love the times I crave a salad (strange to some) but it comes after eating junk so a sign from my body I guess. Noms!

  3. Oh I think we’ve all been there! It’s important to remember that tomorrow is a new day and the choices we made yesterday don’t have to influence the ones we make today 🙂

  4. I definitely can have issues with overeating or eating when I’m not even hungry. I find that it is stress related, or sometimes just boredom. It’s really hard mentally for me, but now I try to ask myself if I’m actually hungry.

  5. I over eat every day – but I actually really don’t, it just SEEMS LIKE I do because I eat TONS AND TONS of veggies and I only eat two meals. I do not do “cleanses” either because my diet in general is a cleanse – lots of veggies, whole, unprocessed foods, healthy fats – my liver loves that stuff! 🙂

  6. jumpeatrun says:

    Glad to hear you are back on track…that can definitely be hard after holiday eating 🙂

  7. Cindy says:

    Hooray for 24 hrs! I commend you, I just can’t do those. I love real food. 😀

  8. I’m big on juice and smoothie cleanse, but the cayenne one left me starvvvvinnngg. Maybe it was the acid from the lemon. Hehe love your “Lady Gaga” pic!

  9. I can completely relate to this post Alex. I struggle with overating (typically like 3-5x per week.) I am a healthy eater; however, come eight o’clock, my mind is screaming for the peanut butter jar. Sometimes I just go to bed or take a bath but other nights I find myself eating far too much. Peanut butter – who would’ve thought?! I like the idea of finding the trigger and combating it with my motivation to stay healthy. I will try this! 🙂

    • Wow I’m the same way and with peanut butter too! Let me know if this is helpful for you. I’ve done a lot of work to try and combat the over-eating monster. The biggest thing that has helped me is to understand why I overeat. For me, it’s because my mind races like yours, and before I know it, a belly full of PB! Lol. I’m still working on it, but it seems like working to understand the motives behind the problem are the best way to work to squash it! Let me know how this works for you!!

Show some love

