Coconut Craisin Oatmeal

I have to tell you, I don’t see value in making New Year’s resolutions. If a change needs to be made, I prefer to make it when it’s needed.

But don’t worry, I still believe in a big NYE celebration.

nye outfit

sober nye party

sober is sexy

Sober is sexy!

I do, however, view each day as a fresh start for new resolutions, like an early morning workout and a big bowl of oats.

coconut craisin oatmeal

Coconut Craisin Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 Tablespoons sweetened coconut
  • 2 Tablespoons Craisins
  • 1 Tablespoon Agave Nectar (or any sweetener)

Add oats, coconut and craisins to a bowl. Bring 1/2 cup water to a boil and pour into the bowl. Add Agave. Stir, serve and enjoy. 🙂

I have to admit, I had a big piece of chocolate cake on New Year’s Day.

cake

The next day, I went rock climbing with a friend so that balances it out, right? 😉

rock climbing

Question for the day: What did you do differently on the first day of 2014?

beauty arises from spirit

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “Coconut Craisin Oatmeal

  1. Nancy Vetter says:

    Happy New Year, Alex! I’m on an oatmeal kick, too. I’ve been mixing Sunsweet’s Amazins (diced pieces of plums, berries, etc.) in my oatmeal, along with a spoonful of Greek plain yogurt. YUM!

  2. I love how versatile oats are- you can put anything in ’em! This morning I had some oatmeal with fresh blueberries and nuts. I’m not big on true blue resolutions either…they are corny to me…just like to reflect when a new year comes around and always stay positive. Always a work in progress. 🙂

  3. Caitlyn says:

    happy new year girl! that oatmeal looks awesome. i haven’t had it too much lately because i’ve been craving yogurt (?) but i love how many delicious variations there are with oatmeal. i’m big on new year resolutions as i’m the queen of procrastination and i’m always like “ehh it’s mid-week. i’ll start [whatever i want to change] on monday for a fresh new week” so a new year is perfect.

  4. I think I’m more like you. I don’t really ever make New Year’s Resolutions. I think about things I want to change, but I don’t write it down or anything. I prefer to make changes as I go.

  5. ranchcookie says:

    I love your view on resolutions, you are so right! And boy oh boy those oats looked so scrumptious! The first day of 2014 I decided not to be a homebody! I usually would have been content just sitting around the house watching tv but instead I got up worked out, ate a big breakfast and off to the mall I went!

  6. haha I love that text convo. And you made me really want oatmeal, I think I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow.

  7. Christine says:

    That oatmeal looks great (and that chocolate cake even better 😉 ).

    Glad to hear you had a great day!

  8. It’s 6 AM and I want that cake for breakfast. The oatmeal looks amazing, too 🙂

  9. I hear ya on the NY’s resolution but I still think it’s fun to make it! And those oats… mmm sound so good! Bout to make me some 😉

  10. Tricia Massey says:

    Yummy Oatmeal for January…terrific….
    you can bake oatmeal = liquid 2 real oats (not steel cut)….I use
    almond milk unsweet…..then add honey to taste….put fruit in bottom of pan add milk top with sliced almonds…..yum yum

Show some love

