Leaving Class Early

I took a Nia class today at my gym. Nia is a sensory-based movement practice that draws from martial arts, dance arts and healing arts. I’m a dancer, so this class was fun for me with a cool spiritual twist.

The best way to classify it is as interpretive dance, so you have to be comfortable with moving around in a crazy way without a care in the world. 🙂

The teacher said to feel gratitude for our muscles.

your body is a temple

I’ve been taking a lot of group classes like yoga, Pilates, and Zumba, and notice some people leaving class before the final cool down.

I skip stretching way too often when I’m doing my own workout, but if you’re already in class, why not stay 5 more minutes?

3fb8e98dec30cef042ba67c9d8ad6645

Stretching is so important. Like Chelsea said, it doesn’t matter how flexible you are. It’s important to remember that flexibility is an equal part to being fit. Stretch it out now.

attitude is everything

Do you notice people leaving exercise classes early?

Whatever floats your boat, I guess!

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “Leaving Class Early

  1. The Nia classes sound really cool! You are making me want to go check out other group classes…I am always busy teaching them but I need to go to Zumba or maybe Kickboxing! I agree with you…stretching is so vital.

  2. Kaitlin says:

    I do notice a lot of people leaving early and have been guilty on occasion. It all depends on what I have going on that day (maybe if I have to leave for work) but that’s really no excuse and can actually be quite rude to the instructor. Good points!

  3. I’m totally guilty of leaving early, but only when I have to run to class haha. I just love squeezing in a workout when I barely have any time. BUT if you have the time, why not stay? I always do as long as I’m not running late for something else.

  4. bezzymates says:

    I have noticed a few people leave class during stretching, but they are missing a very important component of the workout.

  5. Love your videos ha and great message. Have a great weekend alex!

  6. Exercise classes are not really for me. I try, I try… But I am just not in love. I am far more a solo act at the gym… BUT THIS means that I rarely stretch, unless I go to pilates – with my private instructor!

  7. I am definitely known to leave class early if I still plan to workout afterwards; however, if I’m done after the class, I’ll make sure to stretch with the group 🙂 I’m TERRIBLE about stretching on my own though!

  8. Brittany says:

    I always notice when people leave early (and when they come late too) and while I am guilty of leaving early a time or two, I LOVE the ending cool downs and they make my muscles so happy.

  9. Lindsay says:

    That class sounds really cool! I’m always surprised when people leave classes before the cool down, because I love the stretching part! I’m especially surprised in yoga, because I love when you just get to relax and lay down at the end of class.

  10. hey alex! i found your blog via the acac facebook page – i work there, at the front desk. were you the one who asked me about nia vs. alexander technique? i love reading healthy living blogs, so i’m glad i found yours!

Show some love

