Brutal Bikram Yoga

Things got pretty heated last night. I’m talking sweat on sweat. Slippery salty surrendered sweat.

I signed up for another Bikram yoga class with a few girlfriends last night and after giving this style several tries, I’m honestly not a fan. Besides the heat, I don’t like the longer pose holds and repetition. Also the teacher tends to sound like a car sales man. Hold the pose and breathe, deeper, breathe deeper, harder, go longer, stronger…

Hoy vey. While I may have failed to reap the benefits of the class, I was not short on emotions!

Hot yoga? Sure, I love summer weather.

summer time

Wait it’s 90-something degrees in that room?

that hot?

I’m a yogi, I can do anything.

yogi

Arriving at class, this heat isn’t so bad laying down in savasana.

beginning of class

Class starts and it’s time to get moving. I’m starting to feel a little discomfort.

mild discomfort

I’m not sure I was supposed to bend that far.

bending too far

Ouch.

pain

My foot is too slippery to grab. I’m sweltering.

overheated

How do people take this class regularly? I’m so bored.

bored

I had no idea it was possible to sweat THIS much. Where’s my zen??

ugg

Okay finally done. I’m one hellUVA hoo survivor.

survivor

Hoy vey. I think I’m too hot for Bikram yoga. 😉

bikram yoga hell

So spill, do you love or hate brutal Bikram yoga?

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “Brutal Bikram Yoga

  1. NANCY VETTER says:

    The upside is that the workout will burn off a marked down pizza from Kroger’s!

  2. bikram is BRUTAL. I got a 10 day pass when I first moved to dc and happened to go to this super intense studio. wow did it kick my butt more than any other run had. I thought i was dying after 90 minutes

  3. rosiemoreton says:

    Haha I love bikram but the first few times I thought is was suffocating from the heat. I only stayed in the room because I’m so stubborn. I take my friends and they’re like “why are you doing this to me??!!”

  4. jumpeatrun says:

    Love Hot Vinyasa, but have never really done bikram…I should give it a try!

  5. So it was my understanding that bikram was at 110 degrees and you do 26 poses for like an hour and a half. I’ve never done bikram, but I LOOOOOOVE hot vinyasa. It’s vinyasa in a 95-105 room. Every once in a while it’s so hot I feel like I may pass out, but is it weird that I kind of like that? It makes me feel like I’m completely empty inside while being completely refreshed at the same time. You still hold poses for a while but there is a lot of chaturanga-ing and changing it up. Maybe you would like it more with a less salesman-like teacher? Or maybe you’d like hot vinyasa better? Anywho – happy Thursday, Alex!

  6. bezzymates says:

    Lol. You gave me a good laugh today. I’ll have to give hot yoga a try now.

  7. lolool! This is so great. Next time you’re in Richmond maybe try a hot vinyasa class at Hot House. It’s so much different than bikram.

Show some love

