Balance it Out a Bit

It’s almost time for the weekend, and I’m lucky to be home again visiting my parents. I got in yesterday afternoon in time to meet my mom for a bite at our favorite local grocery store in the west end.

good foods grocery

Look who I caught sneaking a sample.

good foods grocery samples

You know she wasn’t the only one. I always enjoy perusing and sampling the aisles of health food stores.

I tried to talk her into an exotic tofu wrap, but she wasn’t having it, so we sat down to feast on a curry chicken salad wrap.

good foods grocery

After a fun evening last night, I hit the gym this morning for Body Flow (a combination of Yoga, Tai Chi and Pilates) and Ultimate Fitness (an ACAC class taught by Vicki that kicks your butt).

I be up in the gym just workin’ on my fitness, you’re my witness.

Would you believe this cool shot was me falling out of a headstand?

yoga headstand

I like combining hard physical workouts with challenging mental workouts. Body Flow allowed me time today to check in, pause and practice mindfulness.

THE zen kat

Even though I love an intense sweaty workout, I always try to leave time for meditation, savasana and being a child, or sitting like one anyway.

childs pose

When my mind races in a flexibility class, I attempt to reach for more rigorous poses, like crow.

crow pose

It’s important to always balance out our exercise routines.

After a re-energizing workout, I met my mom for lunch at Caffe Espresso.

cafe espresso lunch

We didn’t have any fun. 😉

My mother is a fan of consistency, so we went with our favorite Genovese panini, a freshly baked focaccia filled with oven roasted turkey, pesto and provolone, served with a side of sea salt chips.

genovese sandwichSlather pesto on a sandwich and I’m sold.
cafe espresso sandwiches
cafe espresso food Panini: the perfect post-workout meal to get teeeny.
cafe espresso panini

…in moderation of course.

Have a great weekend!

What exercises do you do to break up your regular fitness routine?

yoga is the journey

Tagged , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Balance it Out a Bit

  1. jumpeatrun says:

    that sandwich looks amazing!

  2. P says:

    I recently got into kickboxing at my gym (they call it Body Combat) and I love it so far! It really changes things up from my usual workout routine ;)!

  3. jastreiff says:

    I love your post. So sweet. The special relationship with your mom is so heart warming. It reminds me of me and my mama… and it is so funny that you say your mom is a fan of consistency… my mom as well… sometimes it is hard to get them out of their comfort zones 🙂

  4. ranchcookie says:

    I took a month off my regular running to do a boot camp and it was so fun 🙂

  5. Brittany says:

    I love your falling out of headstand photo! It almost looks like a form of scorpion pose, which is my FAVORITE. To look at, I DEF cannot do it! That sandwich..ohhh man..I love me a good thick sandwich.

  6. Kaitlin says:

    Love this and it’s certainly inspiring me to try yoga out a little bit more. I love doing stuff with my mom and sister, so that’s probably the toughest part about being so far away. But, one day we’ll be in the same area again.

  7. Nicole says:

    Soooo, that picture of your doing the pose where you’re holding yourself up with your arms? Yeah, that pretty much made me gasp out loud. I am so unbelievably impressed, because I’m still in the learning how to do planks stage of yoga. Ha, ha. 🙂 You go, Girl!

Show some love

