Yoga Your Morning

I woke up this morning and decided to forgo the gym in favor of a living room yoga video. It was really nice not having to jerk myself awake and persuade myself to complete a strenuous cardio workout at the gym. Something about practicing yoga in the morning makes waking up a lot easier.

my festive living room may have something to do with it

my festive living room may have something to do with it

I walked downstairs in search for a little snack to wake me up before completing a yoga series. I wanted a bowl of oatmeal but didn’t want to have to wait for my meal to digest or feel overly full during yoga. So naturally, I opted for about a tablespoon of peanut butter.

Part of a substantial breakfast?

Part of a substantial breakfast?

I also had a small glass of almond milk. (I prefer the vanilla flavor which taste like a light milk shake to me.)

It’s definitely not easy to motivate myself to do yoga on my own. I definitely would rather practice yoga in a traditional class setting but it’s hard to justify paying and driving to classes when I’ve got so many free videos on Comcast. (If  you have Comcast or Fios, there are tons of free fitness workout videos on Demand. Even if you don’t have these cable packages, there are lots of videos online as well.)

photo (4)

 

To help motivate myself to do living room yoga, I:

Start by drinking a glass of ice water

Start by drinking a glass of ice water

 

I get out of my comfy pajamas and put on some yoga pants

I get out of my comfy pajamas and put on some yoga pants (although this look is just so cute!) (Source)

 

But I still keep my slippers on (until I'm on my yoga mat, of course)

But I still keep my slippers on (until I’m on my yoga mat, of course)

 

And then it's go time

And then it’s go time

Sometimes, I’ll give myself a few minutes to get warmed up with a light stretch while watching the E! Channel news. 😉

For me, it’s always difficult working out in the morning so finding new approaches, like morning yoga instead of cardio, is deemed a success. Because it’s the holiday season and I fully intend to veg out and eat my heart out eat lots of good food in moderation, I am trying to amp up my cardio. So, I plan to go on a run this evening with my roommate to balance out my workout.

Namaste and happy Monday!

 

Some good websites for at home yoga videos:

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Yoga Your Morning

  1. I know what you mean about it being tough to motivate a morning workout… I always struggle w/that one too. PB as a little appetizer is an awesome thing too! 🙂 Good for you on getting a morning yoga session in!

  2. […] got to experience my very first early morning yoga class today (as opposed to living room yoga) and it was quite fabulous. It was definitely not easy motivating myself to get up and make it to […]

Show some love