Wake up to yoga

I got to experience my very first early morning yoga class today (as opposed to living room yoga) and it was quite fabulous. It was definitely not easy motivating myself to get up and make it to this 6:15 AM class but it felt really good to stretch so early and afterwards I felt very zen. 🙂

20130326-112627.jpg

A healthy breakfast of Chia Goodness to keep the zen

When commenting on our poses, the yoga instructor used words like beautiful, which I liked. I often treat yoga classes like a competitive sport- forcing myself to do the most advanced pose possible and forgetting to breathe. The instructor’s zen-like comments reminded me that yoga is a restorative practice for the body, not an athletic competition.

8621d305cbd8b4222e0b04b3abaf647f

I hope to continue these classes because I feel more relaxed for the remainder of the day.

So last night I had 2 major baking fails.

20130326-112642.jpg

20130326-112654.jpg20130326-123038.jpg

 

The first was for 2-ingredient banana pancakes that I tried to cook over the stove but they just got holes in them and didn’t cook right so I made them into muffins. (For the 2-ingredient pancakes, I used flax + water instead of egg so maybe that was the problem). The muffins turned out okay but not great.

The second fail was a recipe I made up using beans, apple sauce, all natural sugar, some brown sugar, baking powder and soda, flax, and cinnamon. (I realize this sounds disgusting but the sweeteners made it taste like a healthy cookie dough.) The batter and the muffins passed in taste but they sunk in.

I’m either the world’s worst baker or I need to listen to my mother and strictly follow a recipe when it comes to baking. Oops! Both failed baked goods are edible and pretty tasty despite their appearance!

Question: Do you free-style bake? Any tips?

Tagged , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Wake up to yoga

  1. I am pretty bad too, I have far too many fails with my mini donut maker. I keep trying to make like protein donuts, not all have been that good.

  2. If they taste good, I really don’t care what they look like 🙂 I experiment all the time and most of the time, it doesn’t turn out great, but it’s still fun to try new crazy things 🙂

  3. Brittany says:

    Wow 6:15 class!! That’s impressive! I can see how it would help make your day positive and zen like though, totally worth it!

  4. ahh yoga! I intend to do some this week 🙂

  5. I fail every time I cook something… Whatever, as long as it tastes good, it doesn’t matter! LOL! 😉

  6. bezzymates says:

    You are so right. Yoga gets you in a very relaxed, peaceful state.

  7. I love early morning yoga classes!

  8. I am glad these still taste good, that is the most important part 🙂 I definitely freestyle bake!!

  9. Lol I always free style bake I am getting better, lol I have been making so many protein pancakes; I forgot how to cook the real deal.. My tip would be if you add more liquids you gotta add more dry stuff… It always has to be even when baking I don’t know why, the more you practice you will just know 🙂 …

  10. I always use a base recipe + then get creative! It helps because baking is some kind of science that I do not understand! Sending you luck on your next baking trials! Love the yoga, starting your day off with that zen is a MUST, I need that! Thank you for sharing 🙂 Love + Shine CourtStar

  11. jessielovestorun says:

    Bummer about the baking failures, but at least the batter tasted good for the 2nd recipe right?? Always gotta see the positives 🙂

  12. This may sound corny, but if we never fail then we never get better! 🙂 I have had plenty of my own failures in the kitchen, but most often I learn from them!

  13. My baking experiments almost always fail! I end up forgetting how many things I have changed and then it doesn’t set or falls in the middle, etc. Then Chris asks, “What did you change?” and I say, “I only decreased the oil a bit. And the sugar. And added more oats, cause it looked too wet. And baked it longer because it looked wiggly” and then he rolls his eyes 😛

  14. […] powder +soda, then microwaved it for a couple of minutes. Clearly I wasn’t bothered by my baking mishaps from the other night! Oh, and it was surprisingly good! (I mean fudgey “chocolate” […]

  15. Allie says:

    I am so bad at baking, definitely no tips from me! Everything I try to bake TASTES fine, but wow, does it come out ugly/wrong texture/etc. I like your solution, just call it something else 🙂

  16. […] opposite baked goods, Soft and Chewy M&M cookies and clean Banana Oatmeal Breakfast muffins. No baking fails this time! (Whenever I bake for others, following a recipe is always […]

  17. […] been going to morning yoga every week. The yogi mindset (deep breathing, calming thoughts) helps me see passed the minor […]

  18. […] opposite baked goods, Soft and Chewy M&M cookies and clean Banana Oatmeal Breakfast muffins. No baking fails this time! (Whenever I bake for others, following a recipe is always […]

Show some love